Head-hopping.

So who knows what this term means? Anyone? Okay, I’ll tell you.

Head-hopping is when a writer has multiple POVs in one scene. I happen to write this way, but I had no idea that it was a forbidden style of writing in the publishing world. I’ve always written this way. I didn’t know it was considered to be wrong until I was published the third time.

I enjoy multiple POVs in one scene because I like to know how my main characters feel about a certain situation. I don’t know why, but I can’t seem to wrap my head around focusing on one character for an entire story. I even find it difficult to stick to one POV per scene, and then just switch from character to character depending on who happens to be the star of that particular scene. I like to get everyone’s thoughts on the matter.

Well, brace yourselves, world…Wages of Sin will not be following these guidelines. That’s right, we’re breaking the rules of writing. Wages of Sin switches POVs in a single scene. To me, it’s the most natural thing in the world and not at all confusing or irritating to read.

Of course, I am the writer, and so I’m curious…is there anyone out there willing to give this forbidden writing style a chance?

Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

