How I look at bad reviews.

Every writer gets a bad review…or several. My worst review was recently for my novel Star Crossed: Worlds Apart. It can be found on Goodreads. I don’t mind bad reviews, the only bummer is that it lowers the rating of my book. That aside, like I said, I don’t mind bad reviews. My stories aren’t perfect, and I don’t expect them to be. I’m younger than people think I am.

I actually wrote Star Crossed: Worlds Apart when I was sixteen. At first I was a little upset about the bad review, but when I remembered how long ago that manuscript was written, I felt a lot better. I think it’s a pretty good attempt for a sixteen year old, and it got published! Not by the first company I tried either, there were several.

I read bad reviews and muddle them for a while, some of them have helpful advice. There are plot holes I didn’t realize, as I’m sure most writers stumble across after their book is published. I don’t know if this happens to all writers, but when I edit a story and check for things like mistakes (and plot holes), I don’t always see them, because in my mind, I’ve explained everything in the best way I can. Editors don’t always catch plot holes either, unfortunately.

Instead of feeling discouraged, I was encouraged by this bad review. Even though I think it was a good start for that age, I know that I’m getting better with each book. I won’t always catch the mistakes. There will always be errors. All I can do is my best, and fortunately my best gets better with each new work.

What do you guys do when you get a bad review?

If any authors out there need help finding reviewers for their books, check out my “Services” page!

Leave a Reply

